• Shaughnessy Second Grade Remote Learning Support

    Please use this as a resource to support the Lowell Public Schools Remote Learning Resources. We wanted to provide you with examples and choices of activities that would help our students and families meet the Lowell Public Schools Remote Learning Model of suggested learning per week. We suggest that you choose one activity per learning area under the LPS Remote guidelines.

    student

    Literacy/Phonics (10-20 minutes a day)

    Reading (At least 20 minutes a day--choose one option per day)

    • When reading, students should think about reading and get ready for summer.
    • When reading, students can reflect back on what they learned during the year.
    • Begin a summer reading plan (page 3 of week 12 packet).
    • Read the story, The Last Day of School. Write a letter to your teacher and tell her all about your second grade experience.
    • Word Work: Complete the word activities for word endings. 

    Writing (20 minutes a day)

    Students can complete their writing on seperate piece of paper, see-saw, or send pictures to their teachers on DOJO

    • Grade 2 is writing narrative stories.

     

    Math (30 minutes a day)

    • The focus this week is Fractions
    • LPS Week 11 Packet: Complete ONE Application Problem Daily
    • Pick at least 3 additional math worksheets to do daily from the packet 
    • Work on Iready Math and Zearn
    • Work on Iready Math and Zearn

    Science (30 minutes per week--below are suggestions that you can chose for your activity)

    • Brainpop.com login
    • username: lowell123
    • password: brainpop123
    • Stem Activity:  Paper Plate Marble Run (page 40 of week 12packet)
    • Model of a bee feeding on a flower (page 41-42 week 12 packet)

    Social Studies (30 minutes a week)

    LPS Week 12 Packet: Read about children from all different countries (page 47-52 week 12 packet).  After reading, write a letter to one of these children welcoming them to their new class and describe what learning will be like both at home and in school.

    Arts, Physical Education, or Social Emotional Learning (30 minutes a day)

    EL Support (All students are able to use this section for extra activities)

    • LPS Week 12 Packet: Complete one activity each day. Grid is on the last page of the packet

    If You Need to Reach Your Teacher....

    Contact your teacher on either e-mail, Class Dojo, or Google Voice (if they are using it) and they will set up the best way to help you and your child.

    Classroom Teachers

    Mrs. Cummiskey   10:00 - 11:00 AM ccummiskey@lowell.k12.ma.us/dojo/google voice 978-656-1761
    Mrs. Conklin   10:00-11:00 AM Dojo first, then email   econklin@lowell.k12.ma.us
    Mrs. Chakarian   11:00-12:00AM Dojo first, then email   nchakarian@lowell.k12.ma.us
    Miss Barr   11:00 AM-12:00 PM  Primary: DOJO; Secondary email: abarr@lowell.k12.ma.us; third: (774) 469-0615‬


    Special Ed Services

    Mrs. Blaschke- 11:00 AM - 12 PM office hours/ jenblaschke@lowell.k12.ma.us/ClassDojo/(978) 482-7395

    English Language Services

    Mrs. Geiger- Class Dojo, mgeiger@lowell.k12.ma.us

    Other Services- If your child works with these teachers, feel free to reach out to them.

    Speech- Ms. Mahoney- Class Dojo, cmahoney@lowell.k12.ma.us ,Google Voice 978-419-1539
    OT- Mrs. Villarroel- Class Dojo, tvillarroel@lowell.k12.ma.us ,Google Voice 978-561-6193

    Social Worker

    Mrs. Espinola - respinola@lowell.k12.ma.us / phone: 978-337-8426 

    Literacy Specialist

    Mrs. Rabias - srabias@lowell.k12.ma.us/DoJo/phone(978) 226-3931

    Math Resource Teacher

    Mrs. Brown- Class Dojo, Sbrown@lowell.k12.ma.us , Google Voice 978-226-8234

    Specialists

    Ms. Maniscalco- Class Dojo, Lmaniscalco@lowell.k12.ma.us 
    Ms. Lysz- Class Dojo, nlysz@lowell.k12.ma.us 
    Mr. Rogers- srogers@lowell.k12.ma.us 
    Ms. McDermott- Class Dojo, ekmcdermott@lowell.k12.ma.us , (978) 710-8619 Google