• Shaughnessy Kindergarten Remote Learning Support

    Please use this as a resource to support the Lowell Public Schools Remote Learning Resources.  We wanted to provide you with examples of activities that would help our students and families meet the Lowell Public Schools Remote Learning Model of suggested learning per week.

     Reading

     Early Childhood Remote Learning Ideas for Website week of June 8-12

     

    Literacy/Phonics (20 - 30 minutes a day)(Monday video on dojo)

    Week 12 Packet:

    Work on short /e/, short /o/, and short /u/ sound in words. 

    Practice sheets:

     

    • Short /a/,/e/,/i/, /o/, and /u/ Match the words to the pictures.
    •  Sort the pairs into the correct column. All words will make the short a,e,i,o,u.
    • Read the words out loud. 
    • Then write the words on the last page

    Practice your sight words with a family member. 

    • Review Letters and Sounds on F&P alphabet chart.
    • Practice your high frequency word lists for your grade. Students should know these by the end of the year. List A & B for Kindergarten. Go up to First grade List C if your child is ready.

     

    Lotto and Bingo GAME:See week 11

    Reading (At least 20 minutes a day--choose one option per day)

    When reading fiction texts, ask your child to think about the following. Talk about books and have children draw or write what they learned. 

     

     

    • See the “Water Fight!” story in the Packet.Read and talk about the characters, setting, and major events.
    • Have your child read, Sunburn poem and illustrate 
    • Discuss what your child has learned all year and have him/her write about it
    • Find the Summer Reading page and make a plan to read to your child some time each day and then log the titles.Talk about books and have children draw or write what they learned.

     




    Math (30 minutes a day) (Tuesday  teacher video on dojo). Be sure to do your iready math too!

     

    Teen Numbers: Ten ones and more ones!

    11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19 

    11=10+1 or 10+1 more = 11

    Write out teen equations!Use a number bond if you like!See the Number Bond graphic this week.Practice part,part whole.



    Kindergarten Teen Number Cards Cut out these cards and practice making another set. Then take both sets and play a memory game.

    11

    12

    13

     

    14

    15

    16

    17

    18

    19



    Writing (20 minutes a day)(See WednesdayWriting video on dojo)

    -Narrative Writing- Follow the narrative writing interactive board

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FndzDFTcNPfNoQjWaerO_1xLolHrM8iM/view

    Review for the year:Pick any of these and practice writing on your own!Check the sight word lists if you need help with those but SOUND OUT THE WORDS LIKE A ROBOT when you are practicing writing. Do this independently!Mom, Dad, Grandma, Uncle, etc do not need to help you with this!You are all GREAT WRITERS KINDERGARTENERS!!

    Small Moments/Narrative Writing

    Show and Tell Writing

    How To Books

    Write About Reading

    Science and Write about Reading )See video on Thursday)

     

     

    • See the “Water Fight!” story in the Packet.Read and talk about the characters, setting, and major events.
    • Have your child read, Sunburn poem and illustrate 
    • Discuss what your child has learned all year and have him/her write about it

     

     

    This can be completed through activities on the Remote Learning Site. Be sure to look at the Lowell Public School Resources

    Ms. Maniscalco's Content and Literacy Page will also have activity suggestions for how to use this time.

    EL Support (Can be used by all students)

    Week 11 Packet:

    Days of the Week Song

    Months of the Year Song

    Alphabet Sound Song

    Sight Word Song # 1

    Sight Word Song # 2

    Subitizing to 10 Video

    Alphabet Chart

    Listen to a Story_VIDEO

    Listen to a Story 2_VIDEO

    Short Vowel Song_VIDEO

    Writing Checklist

    Writing a Story_VISUAL

    Parts of a Story_VISUAL

    Where Animals Live_BOOK

    Pond Life_BOOK

    Arts, Physical Education, or Social Emotional Learning (30 minutes a day)

     

     

    If You Need to Reach Your Teacher....

    Contact your teacher on either e-mail, Class Dojo, or Google Voice (if they are using it) and they will set up the best way to help you and your child.

    Classroom Teachers

    Mrs. Coppinger 10:00-11:00AM office hours/ Class Dojo/  ktcoppinger@lowell.k12.ma.us

    Mrs. Fennell 2:00 - 3:00PM office hours/Class Dojo/ jfennell@lowell.k12.ma.us 

    Mrs. Tutein 10:00-11:00AM office hours/Class Dojo/ctutein@lowell.k12.ma.us 

    Mrs. Languirand 10:00-11:00AM office hours/Class Dojo/ slanguirand@lowell.k12.ma.us

     

    Special Ed Services

    Mrs. Walton- Class Dojo, Kwalton@lowell.k12.ma.us , Google Voice 781-710-8455

    Miss Murray 12:45pm -1:45 - Class Dojo, amurray@lowell.k12.ma.us, Google Voice 978-710-8565

    English Language Services

    Mrs. Geiger- Class Dojo, mgeiger@lowell.k12.ma.us

    Other Services- If your child works with these teachers, feel free to reach out to them.

    Speech- Ms. Mahoney- Class Dojo, cmahoney@lowell.k12.ma.us ,Google Voice 978-419-1539

    OT- Mrs. Villarroel- Class Dojo, tvillarroel@lowell.k12.ma.us ,Google Voice 978-561-6193

    Social Worker

    Mrs. Espinola - respinola@lowell.k12.ma.us / phone: 978-337-8426 

    Literacy Specialist

    Mrs. Rabias - srabias@lowell.k12.ma.us/DoJo/phone(978) 226-3931

    Math Resource Teacher

    Mrs. Brown- Class Dojo, Sbrown@lowell.k12.ma.us , Google Voice 978-226-8234

    Specialists

    Ms. Maniscalco- Class Dojo, Lmaniscalco@lowell.k12.ma.us 

    Ms. Lysz- Class Dojo, nlysz@lowell.k12.ma.us 

    Mr. Rogers- srogers@lowell.k12.ma.us 

    Ms. McDermott- Class Dojo, ekmcdermott@lowell.k12.ma.us , (978) 710-8619 Google